Skip to content

My piece of the Wine Country

March 25, 2009
by

I live and work in an organic paradise. On my 5 mile commute to the winery, I pass vineyards, orchards, the Santa Rosa Laguna, dozens of bicyclists, an organic pig farm and a host of natural wonders. There are no traffic signals on this drive. I wasn’t always this lucky. I used to live in the city. I used to work in a cubicle.

My circumstances changed dramatically in 2004 when I moved to Forestville. My wife and I live on 2 acres in the middle of an old Gravenstein apple orchard. The apple trees are now mostly gone; only a few are still producing apples. Like many other “ranchers” we are contemplating planting grape vines in place of apples.

My timing could not be any better. In the three years I have been at De Loach, I have witnessed the complete transformation of our new vineyards. I feel very fortunate to have access to professional winegrowers, winemakers, and world class grape growers. The best part is they’ve all been ready, willing and able to help me with my little vineyard project. At this time, we are in the pre-planning stage. I am clearing the land of tree stumps, and trying to line up tractors for the heavy work that comes before planting. I am hoping to have the vineyard laid out and ready to plant by June 1. Stay tuned for my progress.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    March 30, 2009 11:01 pm

    What do you plan to plant out there on the Cooper homestead?

  2. March 30, 2009 11:44 pm

    Kent Ritchie says Chardonnay! But, I think it is hobby-sized anyway, so I can plant what I like. Right now, I like Pinot. Maybe in 10 years I will graft over to Merlot!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

