Skip to content

Food & Wine on the links…

April 13, 2010
Touted as the “Premier Epicurean Lifestyle Event in the United States”, the 4-day Pebble Beach Food & Wine extravaganza in Pacific Grove, CA definitely lives up to its billing. Representing DeLoach at multiple wine tastings over the course of the event , I had a highly enjoyable time discussing the in’s-and-out’s of grapes, wine, and our Biodynamic approach to these subjects with hundreds of savvy wine consumers and sommeliers from throughout North America. A true “foodie’s paradise”, multiple celebrity chefs including Wolfgang Puck, Thomas Keller, Charlie Trotter Michael Chiarello, Tyler Florence, and Fabio Viviani, presented cooking demonstrations intertwined with a number of unique wine offerings from many of California’s most reputable wineries.

Fabio and I (after several libations) at the after-party on Saturday night...

From the DeLoach portfolio, the 2008 Russian River Chardonnay, the 2008 Russian River Pinot Noir, and the 2007 OFS Pinot Noir kept me pulling corks for the thirsty connoisseurs as fast as I could. During the Grand Tasting on Saturday, my pouring location was nestled fortuitously between a cooking station to my left dedicated to bay scallops and Pacific Coast kelp risotto, a perfect match for the Chardonnay, and another my right dedicated to barbecued pork ribs with cherry-pepper glaze, which paired amazingly with each of the Pinots. Countless tasters flocked feverishly to indulge in the splendor!
As I departed late Sunday afternoon with a belly full of some of the most delicious morsels I have ever consumed, and a head full of memories of great times with great people, even Bay Area traffic couldn’t pull the smile from my face. Cheers to next year!

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 5:12 pm

    Eric, knowing your skills as a golfer, how difficult was it to not want to play Pebble Beach? I think our second annual De Loach tournament should move South. Either that or ask our friends from Raymond to hook us up someplace in the Napa Valley.

  2. Eric Pooler permalink
    April 19, 2010 7:38 pm

    Actually, I think my skill as a golfer, or lack-there-of, made it a lot easier for me to avoid the links. My realm of comfort lis down at the ole’ pitch ‘n putt, with a six-pack and a sack of range balls. This said, I’m game to switch the DeLoach tourney to anywhere course without a strictly enforced dress code!…

  3. Eric Pooler permalink
    April 19, 2010 7:39 pm

    Actually, I think my skill as a golfer, or lack-there-of, made it a lot easier for me to avoid the links. My realm of comfort is down at the ole’ pitch ‘n putt, with a six-pack and a sack of range balls. This said, I’m game to switch the DeLoach tourney to anywhere course without a strictly enforced dress code!…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

